Giving Away

I gave two more of my paintings away this past weekend. To family members so I do know they have gone to a good home. But, still, it would be nice to sale something once in awhile. A girl needs to keep herself in canvas and paints somehow!!!
Anyway “Pond Ornaments” and “Shuswap Shore” are no longer available.
Cheers Susan

8 Comments on “Giving Away”

  1. Mary says:

    Very lucky family members, your work is beautiful and is a generous gift! My family has never shown any interest in my work – I understand. I hope that many discover your art and have an opportunity to buy and appreciate your paintings – wish there was a day celebrated around the world that is a “support your local artist day” buy purchasing an artwork. Maybe we should create a movement.

    Like

    • sefeniak says:

      Thank you Mary for your kind comments. Believe me most of my family does not show much interest in my paintings. So when they do I am generous!! Sad to say of all my family its my three year old grandson who has said the kindest words, “You did that? Way to go Grandma!”
      I agree there needs to be a “support your local artist day” Maybe we should start to work on that soon!
      Hope you are enjoying a productive weekend. Cheers, Susan

      Like

  2. At least you can still see them occasionally : ) Yes, it is true, it is very difficult to sell paintings. Fellow artists in my art center had a “smart” idea… they had an area of their studio where there was art for $10. ea. at the last open studio. A lot sold… but, was it worth it? I refuse to lower my prices that much. But, that’s what sells!

    Like

    • sefeniak says:

      Yes at least I will get to see the paintings every now and then. $10. each? I hope they were prints or very small paintings otherwise that seems a bit on the low side. People need to realize they are buying an original piece of art when they purchase from an artist. Why pay $200 or $400 or more when one can get a copy or print from Walmart for $25.
      Marketing ones work seems to be a full time job! But, I will keep on trying. We artists need to be a stubborn lot!! 🙂

      Like

      • Not prints and not real small either!! The problem is that no one values original art (my fellow artist across the hall from me is right… she always says they want original art at print prices) and there are tons of artists trying to sell their work. So I say just enjoy what you’re doing. And you are lucky that your family values your work. Mine really couldn’t care less!

        Like

      • sefeniak says:

        Actually Anita my family provides little support. My best critic is my three year old grandson who always notices a new painting on our wall. The competition is steep. We just have to enjoy what we do and keep our fingers crossed. If it was only about selling our work none of us would survive. So I hear you. Keep on doing what you are doing. It is beautiful. LOL

        Like

  3. Us painters are faced with these dilemmas… I hope you do sell many paintings to good people who will appreciate and take care of them! 🙂

    Like


Leave a Reply

